Spritzophrenia

humour, music, life, sociology. friendly agnostic.

Atheists Have No Songs

Posted by spritzophrenia on November 19, 2010

Check out Steve Martin and a talented Bluegrass ensemble performing a humorous hymn:

Of course, atheists do have songs, I’ve written about atheist music and atheist spirituality.

Even when I was a Christian I came to detest communal singing as a form of worship. So 19th century, dahling. Frankly, I don’t LIKE most christian songs. For me, connecting to the transcendent requires other kinds of music. For example, my friend Ginger’s brand new hard trance track. Go have a listen.

Ailenni | Lost In Love (Original by Legend B)

I think he’s giving it away for free, I will update with the download link once I find it.

Respond

Does singing do it for you? What about humour?
Please subscribe (top left) πŸ™‚

Please share this article:

9 Responses to “Atheists Have No Songs”

  1. Steve Martin has been a fave from childhood. His β€˜omlette du fromage’ killed me. Thanks for this. πŸ™‚

  2. abfabgab said

    While I am not a christian (or really considered myself as one, although I did attend church for a few years), I did enjoy the communal singing and do have some christian songs on my ipod: Awesome God (Michael Smith) Dive (Steven Curtis Chapman and some others (even some that are Jesus-specific!)

    I love singing AND humour, usually not together, though..lol.

  3. dogcicle said

    I have a tendency to explain most human behavior through a biological lens. I even have a theory why hearing running water makes us have to pee.
    Music and religion originate in the emotional side of our brain. Inspiration is an unconscious act that flows from us from a place that is mistakenly, i think, confused to be from god. The drumbeats of our prehistoric ancestors and the stirring music in the great cathedrals is a search for the source of this inspiration.I hope one day we can locate this source.

    • Lots of people want to explain all our behavior with “mere” biology. And if materialism is true (ie there is no spiritual aspect to the universe at all), it’s probably right.

      A good topic for another time πŸ™‚

  4. Ahh, I am not really giving it away for free… not just yet.
    If you do want a copy search for Ginger Shinobi on facebook and I am sure I will be feeling generous!

    g

    ps thanks for the plug

  5. SugarPop said

    In my world, singing, especially with others, is one of life’s greatest pleasures. There’s nothing quite like it, IMHO

    As for humour – well, laughter is the best medicine, is it not?
    http://helpguide.org/life/humor_laughter_health.htm

    πŸ˜€

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
