Spritzophrenia

humour, music, life, sociology. friendly agnostic.

On the Making of All Things New

Posted by spritzophrenia on October 20, 2010

Some foresee a re-making of the universe at the endpoint of the future. The Physics of Immortality and The Grand Design led to fantastical speculations in my head. Perhaps the g0d of a cosmos where time is only one of multiple dimensions can go back and change history. All tears must be wiped away. Perhaps a re-making of time might somehow heal all wounds, while leaving creatures free to choose, because they’ve already chosen.

On making old things new,

Time present and time past
Are both perhaps present in time future,
And time future contained in time past.
If all time is eternally present
All time is unredeemable.
What might have been is an abstraction
Remaining a perpetual possibility
Only in a world of speculation.
What might have been and what has been
Point to one end, which is always present.
Footfalls echo in the memory
Down the passage which we did not take
Towards the door we never opened
Into the rose-garden.

~ T.S. Eliot, the opening lines from Four Quartets.

Sun rays in the woods

The real g0d is far beyond the merely human-like God, while still encompassing him/her. A shape, who is yet a person, the breath of the multiverse, a Someone dazzling, blazing, beautiful. In whatever form we find ourselves, our desire will be to journey “Further up, and farther in”. Perhaps eternity really is more like the great gig in the sky?

Pink Floyd | Time

Respond

? What do you think?
Please subscribe (top left) πŸ™‚

25 Responses to “On the Making of All Things New”

  1. Lydia said

    Have you read “The Golden Key” by George MacDonald? You can read it here if you haven’t: http://www.george-macdonald.com/etexts/fiction/golden_key.html

    It’s a fairy tale about finding peace and the re-making of whatever grows old, tired and broken. I think you’ll really like it.

    • I read George McDonald’s Lilith and Phantates and enjoyed them so yes, I’ll definitely read that. Thanks for the tip. He’s arguably the originator of modern fantasy.

  2. meryl333 said

    There is no such thing as Time. It is only in our minds. Heal your wounds NOW.

  3. The Agnostic Pentecostal said

    If God could go back and change history, time, present, future, whatever, I don’t think we’d be able to realize it, because we would have no reference point. Perhaps we exist in multiple dimensions and universes simultaneously (ala M-theory), but even then we cannot realize or appreciate what one of our “selves” experiences in the other universe’s time.

    My point: If our tears from abuse, for instance, were wiped away in the past, perhaps we would never know it, or at least never feel the joy of having the pain washed away. Because if evil never happened, we would have no appreciation of good.

    So which is better, absence of all pain, or a growth because of it? But then if the latter is the case, is this all just a grand cosmic game of “torture and relief, repeat as necessary”?

    • Dave, you’ve hit several nails on the head.

      Certainly, thinking through what this sort of thing might mean is not easy stuff. I’m suggesting more of a hopeful vision than a coherently thought-out theory. As I think through the (im)possibilities I may conclude that it doesn’t work.

      For now I’m still blissing out on possibilities πŸ˜‰

      “So which is better, absence of all pain, or a growth because of it?”

      I guess I’m trying to have my cake and eat it too. Pain is real, so we get the growth, but then is somehow undone again?

    • Anne said

      Dave or Someone, could you mention a good reference for the “M-theory”?

      • I don’t know if this is the best one, but here is the reference to M theory http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M-theory_(simplified_explanation) from my blog about Stephen Hawking’s new book.

        Let me know if you find a better one?

        Most of this does require *some* degree of sciencey-knowledge, some of it I don’t pretend to fully understand.

        • Anne said

          Thanks. Didn’t realize it was connected with string theory. Public tv here did a series on string theory several years ago that was pretty user friendly… now, I’d have to see it all over again. I’ve read some of Hawking and others but it’s been awhile.

  4. Are you kidding? Time, the universe, quantum physics, pink floyd? I’m salivating.

  5. Anne said

    Jonathan,
    Sorry about the long absence… just life inserting itself into my world. (Or is it the world inserting itself into my life??) Anyway, the Eliot poem is great and food for much thought. It helps to free up the constraints of time, to know that it’s possible that time doesn’t really rule the way it seems to. I also enjoyed the Pink Floyd quote. I’ve missed a lot and will be reading somewhat backwards in your blog. Thanks for still being there; you’re a joy.

  6. Anne said

    Just watched the Pink Floyd video. Looks like it was made somewhat recently. I knew that song but not many of the words and appreciate your finding it.

  7. leesis said

    Personally I don’t desire my tears to be wiped away. I just want to understand.

  8. K said

    Ahh.. what a lovely poetic πŸ™‚

  9. MB said

    Thanks for sending me the link to your blog! I love the song (but geez, they look old! what does that say about time?!)

    I think many of us experience time differently – and I think that’s why some people seem ‘stuck’ in their lives while others seem to be on fast forward (in a good way!)

    I have experienced time as a sort of spiral – very cyclical but with subtle changes through the cycles. Those moments when it feels like you’ve been there before (emotionally or whatever) but not ‘really’ just ‘sort of’ πŸ˜‰

    Looking forward to reading your visions!

    MB (mbmccandless on Twitter)

  10. […] On the Making of All Things New […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
