Spritzophrenia

humour, music, life, sociology. friendly agnostic.

The Crib Notes

Posted by spritzophrenia on July 29, 2010

FAQ: All the things you wanted to know about this site, and some you didn’t. Like my life and thinking, this page is a work in progress.

The most important bit is probably the

Comment Guidelines

I love comments from all perspectives, please don’t feel intimidated. You don’t have to be a super-intellectual or brilliant writer to contribute. I’m quite ok with “I don’t feel like this is true, but I’m not very good at explaining my reasons”. After all, that’s how I feel sometimes.

I hope Spritzophrenia can be a place where we leave our pride behind and sincerely listen to each other. I have to lead by example, of course, and I’m sure I’ll screw it up at times.

If something really pushes your buttons or makes you angry you might want to consider taking a few moments to breathe before commenting.

Play nice, children.

***

Glossary, Definitions and Suchlike

Most of the below deserve posts in their own right, but for now…

Offending Your Beliefs
I’m well aware that a non-adherent of a religion usually makes mistakes in emphasis, nuance and understanding when writing about it. My apologies for any factual errors I make. I feel uncomfortable criticising a spiritual path from the outside and I try to rely on those writing from the inside. I also acknowledge the large number of good, moral people in any worldview.

See also…

Religions
I’m far from an expert on everything. Nobody can be. I’ve done a lot of reading, and have a fair amount of personal experience of a very *few* religions. Please correct me and help me understand your worldview if I’ve got it wrong.

Atheism
Sometimes I include atheism in the category of “religions”,”faiths” or “beliefs”. I don’t mean to insult anyone, it’s just simpler to write. Atheism is not a religion, and it pisses atheists off to hear that line. All I mean when I use the word in this context is “a perspective on life”, which can be grouped with other perspectives on life.

Agnostic
I call myself an “open agnostic”, a “friendly agnostic”, and a “woolly-headed intellectual lightweight without the balls to man up and be an atheist” 😉 Many agnostics are at the atheist end of the scale. I tend to float up and down the scale a little. That means sometimes I take seriously the idea there could be a spiritual reality. Sorry ’bout dat.

g0d
You’ll notice that sometimes I talk about “g0d”. That’s a zero in the middle there. I suppose it looks similar to the way some Jewish believers write G-d but that’s not why I do it. “God” is a concept that has so much baggage for so many people, including me. I’m trying to distance myself a little from any particular religion’s God, particularly the grumpy old man in the sky. If g0d exists she’s a truly wonderful being. g0d to me means a theistic god, and that’s about it.

Spritzophrenia
What does this word mean? Anything you want it to, really. I suppose seeing I coined it you want to know what I mean by it.

Anything else that should go on this page?

18 Responses to “The Crib Notes”

  1. Atheism is certainly not a religion, but it fits neatly into the category of “Theism” quite well in my opinion, in that the topics covered by atheism are also covered by theism. No offense taken!

  2. Sugarpop said

    Nice – I like it 🙂

    I have to be honest and say that sometimes I feel a little intimidated by what others reply in response to your writing. I’m smart but I’m no expert on many of the subjects you write about – what I am is exceedingly curious and I lust for more knowledge and greater understanding. It is reassuring to be explicitly invited to comment – no matter how *naïvely*. I’m a big fan of the principle “there are no stupid questions” although sometimes they are the most difficult to express because of the space into which they are spoken. I think you get my drift.

    Thanks

    • You’ve got it EXACTLY right 🙂 If I can reduce peoples’ sense of intimidation somehow, that’s a good thing.

      Perhaps I need to reassure people that I will come down upon nassssty over-intellectuals with a big stick if they are mean to my friends?

      • SugarPop said

        I don’t think there is any call for big cyber sticks 🙂 Besides, you’re not responsible for anyone else’s opinions and thoughts shared through your blog, just the space that you have created for us to step into.

        There have been some comments referring to Derrida and Foucault etc (refer discussion thread related to https://spritzophrenia.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/somewhere-over-the-rainbow/ ), so I know there is a level of understanding out there about language and the discourses we each bring to any conversation.

        Much of the writing/comment here is reflexive. For me, I guess, it is about engaging respectfully in response to both your writing and other’s comments on it. To agree to disagree, rather than state categorically that anyone is out and out *wrong*.

        So far my sense is that most of us who enter here do that.

  3. […] To repeat myself, this post is a plea for charity, and a plea for awareness that there are multiple views of how God might have generated the world, held by genuine Christians, and by genuine scientists[4]. I’d like to hear your opinion. Please notice my comment guidelines. […]

  4. I’m going to respond to your warning to ‘play nice.’ I’m talking here about others – not myself (but I could, eh?)

    As you know I go against the grain and I push people’s buttons. I leave their reactions up to them. Yes, it’s hard. Rudeness is always uncalled for.

    Your thoughts are very interesting and make me think – which I like of course. I will continue to comment but I am truly concerned that my strong beliefs might offend you. I am not an atheist. My God does not fit expectation though. As you correctly predicted, even though I rarely label myself, I am an Ietsist.

    In love, light and peace always.

    • This page is a work in progress, and will be referred to regularly in my blog. Suggestions for improving the wording are welcome.

      I’m fairly hard to offend, I think. I hope to have a variety of contributors here, as that can only improve the results. I do ask of myself a fair degree of intellectual rigour, so I will ask questions if I don’t understand how something can be. But sometimes it’s better just to have a coffee and relax about it all.

      I’ve been thinking, maybe I need to reign back the intellectual a little, the personal practice (of atheism or whatever spirituality) is a challenge, and arguably more important?

  5. Hmmm. I don’t know if it’s possible to separate the intellectual from the personal. Your Buddha piece was a great combo imo.

    • I guess I mean not everyone enjoys an academic piece. I want to learn to communicate, not just elucidate.

      Thanks, I was really happy with that piece around Buddhism.

      Lately I feel like I’m getting too narrow. This is probably the result of focusing on academic Christian theology and writing/discarding 5000 words+ recently.

      Ahh, self-criticism, what a friend you are 😉

      Any Jewish Ietsist articles will be most welcome.

  6. ok.

  7. […] By the way, that word “God”, has lots of baggage, so please substitute Brahman, spiritual reality, or another term if you prefer. In this post I’m not too particular about the nature of the goal I’m seeking. Reality, or Truth will do. I’ll use g0d. […]

  8. […] useless in the way the concept is used. Or it is personal (positive?), a mind. And therefore a g0d. There seem no other […]

  9. […] wonder what part of my modern culture could do with taking up into g0d? What part of […]

  10. […] distortion of the world, the breaking-down which theologians call “the Fall”. Remember, I’m agnostic, but I’m wearing my Christian hat […]

  11. 'Seph said

    g0d
    You’ll notice that sometimes I talk about “g0d”. That’s a zero in the middle there. I suppose it looks similar to the way some Jewish believers write G-d but that’s not why I do it. “God” is a concept that has so much baggage for so many people, including me. I’m trying to distance myself a little from any particular religion’s God, particularly the grumpy old man in the sky. If g0d exists she’s a truly wonderful being. g0d to me means a theistic god, and that’s about it.

    I like!
    My definition is quite large, surpassing a personal theistic God.
    It’d take too long to explain in this short little bit.

    I like your text of g0d. I think I might steal it!

  12. […] I want there to be a God? Do I want g0d to exist? Or perhaps another kind of spiritual reality, like Nirvana? Yes, today I think I […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
