Spritzophrenia

humour, music, life, sociology. friendly agnostic.

Should I Rename Spritzophrenia? Win A Prize!

Posted by spritzophrenia on July 21, 2010

It’s my birthday next Tuesday, and I’m thinking of buying a real domain name for this blog. So it’s opportune to ask you, my devoted readers (all four of you) whether you think I should rename this site.

The options are:

1. Leave it called spritzophrenia. Advantage: Unique. Disadvantages: Hard to spell, and what the hell does it mean?

2. Change it to something else. Advantages: Maybe people would find my site more easily, and have some idea of what it’s about. Disadvantage: Would I be restricting myself if I suddenly want to write about something else, or convert to Astral Chickenism?

If you DO think it needs changing, what do you think I should name it? By now you have an idea of what I write about. I’m thinking something with agnostic in the name might be an idea, but am open to anything.

eg

Agnostic Walrus
Paranoid Spiritual Geek
Pathetic Philosophy
Semi OK Writing
This Guy Is Deluding Himself

If it helps, I found a useful naming tool which is fun to try. “AgnosticBrite”, anyone? Ooh! “AgnosticArse”. We have a winner!

Please tell me if I should change, and if so make suggestions. The more the merrier, brainstorm away, you can comment many times. Your prize… um… an all-expenses-paid meditation retreat with me. We will be contemplating the inside of an empty wine bottle, and the expenses are paid by you. I can’t lose!

Please comment. πŸ™‚

34 Responses to “Should I Rename Spritzophrenia? Win A Prize!”

  1. SugarPop said

    Mr Elliot – you certainly do a great line in humour! I’ve just picked myself back up off the floor and back onto my chair after reading this post – I will give your request some serious thought – watch this space πŸ™‚

  2. Brandon Whaley said

    That’s a cool prize! I like how your examples become increasingly self-deprecating haha. I actually like the current name. It’s got character.

  3. I think leave it, whether you like it or not, it’s your trademark. I’m stuck with Atheist Climber whether I like it or not… if I changed it all my (8) readers would be lost!

  4. I suppose I could just register a generic JonathanElliot name and hang whatever else I write off that?

  5. Meryl on Twitter said: Spritzophrenia is spell-able enough. Better than the other options fer sure.

  6. The Agnostic Pentecostal said

    I like Pathetic Philosophy. πŸ˜‰ I like your current name too, but a more easily recognizable descriptor might be good for first-timers so they don’t have to read About….but then again…that’s what you want…keep ’em perusing.

    • Yeah. I guess I’m wondering if they will not even arrive without some indicator.

      I wonder if there’s a theory on naming websites. I bet there is. Will have to research that.

      Thanks.

  7. exis10s said

    I think Spritzophrenia is a very good name. It’s memorable & not that hard to spell.

  8. Rosefleur said “change it”

  9. Iain said

    I’d just stick with schp… szt… shrs… schriz…

    I kid.

    Just go with what you have. It’s a memorable, quirky, and interesting name already. Also, it has good googleability, given that I imagine its pretty unique.

    Do I win?

  10. 1 of 4 – I kind of like the existing name. β€˜The Wandering Agnostic.’ Hardly sexy.

  11. I’m gonna have to go with you sticking with spritzophrenia. It’s unlike most other site names I hear and it sticks in the head.

  12. ‘Your prize… um… an all-expenses-paid meditation retreat with me. We will be contemplating the inside of an empty wine bottle, and the expenses are paid by you. I can’t lose!’

    sure.

  13. gardenbuddha said

    I saw your name “spritzophrenia” for the first time yesterday and it really rang my bells. It’s like taking hold of madness (schizophrenia) and giving it your own twist.

    • “It’s like taking hold of madness (schizophrenia) and giving it your own twist.” Yeah, I’m really interested to hear what people who’ve never heard the word before think. I like your phrase there, I’m gonna yoink that πŸ˜€

  14. Anne said

    Jonathan,
    Personally, I like Spritzophrenia… see, I can spell it even. It allows you, as you say, to write about whatever you’d like. We all evolve. Your blog is a personal quest in some ways, and your thinking may become defined in a different way down the road. I’d say, don’t narrow the definition of the blog with a name that would limit you. On the other hand, do you like the name? If not, rename, but keep the name creative and non-limiting. Are you professionally hosted? I think that’s a good idea. Thanks for asking. You have great commenters on your blog! I mean of course besides me : )

    • As always, Anne, it’s lovely to hear from you. I’m leaning towards your point of view, as I may want to broaden my blog a bit. But market research is always useful πŸ™‚

  15. Erica said

    Good post! I laughed out loud.

    I have taken the last few days to meditate upon this serious issue. After 2 days of fasting, I feel a sense of peace with Spritzophrenia. It is charming name! When I first saw the name, I did think of Schizoprenia- with a happy twist!

    I think that it is a trend to have a blog with “atheist” or “agnostic” in the title, which is good for attracting those interested in the subject already but if your goal is to attract readers outside that box then something interesting and quirky is better. You are also not locked in to any position. You can be free to blog about any spritzophrenic topic that hobblenoodles into your beggagantuan wannaboodle! Right? I do have the definition of Spritzphrenia correct, don’t I?

    • Hahaha πŸ˜€ So glad someone takes my writing seriously enough to fast over it. I don’t. πŸ˜‰

      I am definitely seeing the advantages of having a “broad” name so I’m not restricted in subject matter and don’t turn away people who have preconceived notions. Thanks for taking the time to reply Erica.

  16. Erica said

    Shoot! Typo or spelling error! I guess I was thinking of definition for Spritzphenia, which is completely different than Spritzophrenia.

    So, upon further reflection, and after eating a sandwich, you may want to go for something that is easier for folks to remember if you want to attract the massses. (I have met MORE than one person in my life to try to research “Euthanasia” and find no sources at the library under “Youth in Asia.”
    Seriously.)

    On the other hand, if only smart people can remember your blog name, you will continue to attract only the most cerebral readers, which is clearly your audience. πŸ™‚

    • How wonderful – a spritzophrenic reply. First a reply saying one thing, and then a reply saying the opposite. Perfect πŸ™‚

      You have hit the horns of my dilemma with a nail… or wait, there’s a mixed metaphor in there somewhere. Thanks. I shall come and peruse your blog some more, I read a couple of posts the other day and enjoyed them. πŸ™‚

  17. leesis said

    Nooooooooooooooo…don’t change the name!
    Having found you due to my interest in mental illness and expecting to find a humourous take on same, I was delighted to discover your major topic as it is my number one interest/passion. Now I’m just rying to find the time to back track and read what youve written! Cheers…Leesa

    • Leesa, I think you’ve answered my question πŸ™‚ I figured some people would come here via misspellings, and I’m really glad that you’re interested in other stuff I have to say. I’m interested in what you’ve got to say too. As you’ll see, I’m aware that schizophrenia doesn’t mean ‘split personality’, but I’m using it in its popular sense. Welcome πŸ™‚

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
