Spritzophrenia

humour, music, life, sociology. friendly agnostic.

The Spirituality of Dating

Posted by spritzophrenia on February 17, 2010

Reading the mystics can help us to understand the impermanence we sometimes experience from loving another, the insecurity, and the unfulfilled longing that accompany any relationship. But they also convince us that despite these difficulties, moments of love, however short or long they may last, are worth all the risks we take on their behalf. If we never open ourselves to the possibility of love, we will never experience the transformation possible when it walks in, and sometimes out, of our lives.

from Dating is Good for the Soul channeled via GoodMateTim. Thanks!

What do you think? Do you think human love can tell us anything about g0d or the spiritual path?

2 Responses to “The Spirituality of Dating”

  1. SugarPop said

    hmmmmmmmmmmm… Just read the referenced article Dating is Good for the Soul. Deeply disillusioned by conservative christianity and societal “norms” supporting one partner for always, I’m proud to be a serial monogomist. I do not believe in The One. There are Many – each with their unique gifts of learning. And yes, I have been heart broken. Many times. But I don’t think I am in any way damaged in the negative sense. Like you, I am brilliant and broken. My heart has been cleaved open and so it remains. There is no healing, just integration. I willingly bare all when my heart responds to another. I WILL NOT live a life devoid of risk and averse to pain – each moment passes and things change. To try to hang on to anything is a waste of time. I absolutely want to be with someone I love deeply and openly and to be with them for as long as possible, but not at the expense of my integrity nor theirs. I give my love freely to anyone I feel moved to share it with. And I do not require that they love me back in the same way, or even love me back at all. Every moment is full of promise, which in my experience is tarnished when personal agenda intervenes.

    I might be full of shit. Or I might be on to something. I honestly don’t know. What I do know is this is how I view human love and relationships. So yes, to me human love tells me more about myself and the spiritual path. I’m less sure about god, because I don’t really know who, what and where she is.

  2. Romy said

    I completely agree with this statement, ‘worth all the risks we take on their behalf. If we never open ourselves to the possibility of love, we will never experience the transformation possible when it walks in, and sometimes out, of our lives.’

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
