Spritzophrenia

humour, music, life, sociology. friendly agnostic.

10 Must-See Spiritual Movies

Posted by spritzophrenia on December 25, 2009

Given the holiday season, you’ll probably want something to do. Given I’m a movie buff I’m going to see Avatar [see my Avatar experience], and will probably watch a few others on my laptop when I can. If you’re hiring a DVD, here are my ten must-see movies to kick-start your spiritual journey [1], or provide sustenance along the way. Regardless of their spiritual subject matter (or not) these are good films in their own right. Note that some contain violence or sex; these aren’t the kind of films Pastor Bob shows to the youth group – no tacky evangelistic flicks here. Some films will inspire you, some will revolt you. All of them will make you think, and perhaps grow. In no particular order:

1. The Exorcist (1973, re-released 2000)
Evil. Some perspectives – Buddhist, atheist, Hindu – have no concept of it. Usually Hollywood portrays evil as somehow “cool”. Hell is a place where the fun people get to party for all eternity. Heaven is a boring place for wimps. Devils even have a sense of humour, a trait that C.S. Lewis rightly pointed out a devil could not have – humour is a good, not an evil. The Exorcist portrays hard, uncompromising, callous, hate-filled evil. Think of Sauron in the Lord of the Rings.

What’s truly scary about The Exorcist is the possibility that there could be malevolent entities as well as benign. I first encountered what may have been a demon when I was 16. Pentecostal christians like to talk a lot about demons, but this was the only encounter in 20 years I had where I truly believed it could be real. Comment if you’d like me to talk about this some time.

The New Age tends to ignore the dark side of spirituality. It’s perfectly possible if there are spirits that some could be the equivalent of the shark; hidden, unfeeling predators who will take opportunities to attack humans if given the chance. If this is so, it would pay us to find allies among the good spirits.

2. Breaking the Waves (1996)
This film blew me away. A ‘simple’ young woman from a strict christian group marries an oil rig worker who then suffers an accident. She believes g0d tells her to prostitute herself in order to heal her husband. Is she insane? Is God cruel? Why don’t her conservative church help her? Filmed by Lars von Trier, this is not an easy watch by any means, but is deeply thought-provoking and for me, ultimately rewarding.

Breaking The Waves is a movie about the protestant christian concept of grace – un-earned kindness. It’s about trust in g0d against impossible odds. Make sure you watch the final minute of the movie. It changes everything.

3. The Mission (1986)
Set in 18th Century South America, a warrior priest and a pacifist both try to save the people they love and care for. Who will succeed – just war priest, or tree-hugger priest? Another major plot concerns the conversion of a hard-living slaver to a devout Catholic. But can he truly give up his past? A provocative and powerful film.

4. Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter…and Spring (2003)

The dramatic portrayal of Buddhist lifestyles and spiritual truths is perhaps more difficult to accomplish in an exciting way than depictions of Western religious practices and stories, because the Dharma is geared to inner transformation. And while enlightenment may be one of the most profound experiences a human being can undergo, it doesn’t exactly translate easily into compelling cinema.

From greencin

While that may be true, this Korean film is a moving and powerful portrayal of a Buddhist “redepmtion”. The movie is slow and lyrical – meditative, which is surely intentional on the director’s part. An old monk educates a young man, who subsequently leaves the monastery and commits atrocious crimes. The subsequent story is well worth an evening’s viewing.

5. Koyaanisqatsi (1982)
Koyaanisqatsi is not an explicitly religious movie and in that respect one could call it an atheist meditation on life, technology and our interactions with them. Perhaps one could call this a humanist movie, the first of a trilogy. It’s more a documentary or a work of art yet has no spoken narrative, only a mesmerising soundtrack by Phillip Glass. For me, the film portrays a deep sense of the wonder and tragedy of human acheivement. Watching it is a meditation in itself.

6. Jesus of Montreal (1989)
This Canadian production is probably the best modern re-imaging of what Christians call the ‘gospels’ – the biographies of Jesus. Yet it’s a totally atheistic Jesus, one that could be believed without reference to a g0d. As one would expect from a movie that captures the ‘feel’ of Jesus, it’s brilliant and compassionate.

7. The Apostle (1997)
Robert Duvall portrays a Pentecostal preacher going through hard times. Exploring hypocrisy, belief and wrenching humanity this is one of the more challenging looks at the underbelly of US christianity.

8. The Rapture (1991)
Rapture (rap’chur) 1. ecstatic joy or delight. 2. a state of extreme sexual ecstasy. 3. the feeling of being transported to another sphere of existence. 4. the experience of being spirited away to Heaven just before the Apocalypse. You’ve possibly heard the fundies talking about being ‘raptured’ As far as I know the writer and director are not Christians, but chose to explore what it might be like if this really is true. A telephone operator living an empty, amoral life finds God and loses him again. What would it be like for a non-religious person addicted to sex to be ‘born again’?

9. The Message (1976)
I hesitated to include this in my list, but I think all non-Muslim Westerners would do well to acquaint themselves with the story of Muhummad. The film itself is well produced and acted, it won several awards. Bonus: It was announced just a couple of months ago that Oscar-winning producer Barrie M. Osborne, of ‘Matrix’ And ‘Lord of the Rings’ fame will make a movie about the founder of Islam. I will watch with great interest. Neo and Gandalf meet the last prophet?

10. Natural Born Killers (1994)
You’re probably wondering why I include this as a ‘religious’ movie. You’re right, it’s not – and that’s the whole point. To me it’s a movie about nihilism, one extreme form of atheism: Nothing means anything, there’s no right or wrong, only pleasure. If we want to kill, who cares? Other people have no value except as we choose to use them. Yet the love the two main characters share perhaps belies this point of view. Is this a redeeming factor? Or does it show that nihilism can’t be lived?

So there we are. It was hard culling down a large list to just ten. Perhaps we’ll have to do this again sometime. I hope you gain insight and connection through watching them. I’ve written part two of my pagan experience, I aim to get that online soon. In the meantime, have you seen any of the above films? What other movies did you find spiritually – or atheistically – enlightening?

Happy holidays

listening to Terra Nine and Aviatrix | Wonder, T9 + Aviatrix | Whisper (Pete Ardon and Helix drum n bass remix)
tful[2] Karen jokes about Santa Claus

[1] Again, I am including atheism as a spiritual journey for want of a better description. I mean no offence by this.
[2] Today’s Fun Unrelated Link

18 Responses to “10 Must-See Spiritual Movies”

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by jonathanhelix: @PsychicEnergies Thanks for following. I’ve just posted my top 10 list of #spiritual #movies http://tinyurl.com/yd2tkpg

  2. Paul Jones said

    Jonathan, I would add “The Witness” starring Harrison Ford to this list. On the surface, it’s a thriller about a young Amish boy who witnesses the murder of a policeman. But on another level, it’s about the “witness” of his Amish community to the cop (Ford) who protects him. Raises some really good points about nonviolence, community, technology, anti-materialism and more. And for me, “The Matrix” would be in the top 3. Again a thriller, but with a very clear message that the ultimate reality is a spiritual world rather than the physical world, and that we can choose which to live in.

  3. Thanks Paul.

    I’d forgotten about the Witness. I’ve never actually seen it and that has just rocketed to the top of my ‘must-see’ movies for the next little while. I’ll write what I think when I’ve seen it.

    As I said, it was a hard choice picking just 10. That was rather encouraging for me actually, the number and quality of “deep” films out there.

    I’d thought the Matrix was a completely secular kind of ‘otherworld’? Having said that, I consider atheism as a valid ‘spiritual’ path in my writing so thanks. I’m going to have to watch that one again too. Is the Matrix a spiritual movie?

    J 🙂

  4. CindyMatt said

    hey, good post and i also like your page layout too. Bookmarked your site and will stop by again

  5. dan said

    I would like to add “The Fountain” – One of the most spiritual movies I’ve ever seen.

  6. Nicki said

    Not about spirituality per say, but I’ve always been a bit partial to the omen, about an antichrist as a little boy. Always found the movie totally scary, particularly when I was a christian.

    Then there is that movie based on a book called the Northern Lights. I think the movie was called the Golden Compass. I have not seen the movie but if it is anything like the book it was about someone trying to find a way to kill god, the the nature of original sin.

    I might also add the Lion the Witch and the wardrobe which has to be partly based on the christian bible – the whole idea of Aslan being like christ who sacrificed himself to be humiliated and ultimately killed only to rise again (though in this case the christ was a lion rather than the lamb of god).

  7. […] 10 Must-See Spiritual Movies […]

  8. […] Also see 10 Must-See Spiritual Movies. […]

  9. Iain said

    I’ve seen 3 and 10. 3 was AMAZING.

    Oh no! Now I have eight movies to watch!

  10. Iain said

    Just finished Breaking the Waves.

    Sad. Happy? Confused. Angry? Stunned.

    I can’t even identify my emotions right now. I’m still sifting through them all.

    Generally speechless. Good speechless. Time to think.

  11. […] seems just as gleefully vile as Hindi, expanded by watching Four Lions. Some time ago I listed top ten spiritual movies. I’ve discovered a few more, and this one would definitely make it into the list. Not because […]

  12. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He
    was totally right. This post actually made my day.
    You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  13. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  14. Francisco said

    Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same
    niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on.

    You have done a wonderful job!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
